Skip to content

2.45: Sgt. LeTourneau

March 22, 2014

 photo 024501_zpsf414da3a.jpg

She saw the truck pull up to the curb and the man in full army attire climb out.

“What fresh hell is this,” muttered Allie as she went to the door to greet her unannounced visitor. “As if I need another problem right now.”

 photo 024502_zps7712388e.jpg

As the man came closer, Allie grew more confused.  “Weldon?”

“Hey, babe,” he said. “Looking good.”

 photo 024504_zpsc5ac4303.jpg

“What are you wearing? What’s with the army get up?  The truck…Weldon, what’s going on?”

Weldon gave her his best boyish grin, and looked like the cat that not only ate the canary, but the hamster too. “I got a great new gig, babe,” he said, the grin spreading across his whole face.

 photo 024503_zps81aed225.jpg

“The army? Are you nuts? What the hell were you thinking?” Allie was beside herself now. “This…this was your top secret training? I thought you were getting picked up by a think tank or a research company, but the army?”

Weldon looked crushed. “I thought you’d be happy for me. I will be doing research – cutting edge top-level scientific research in the paranormal. It’s what I’ve always wanted.  We’re getting married soon.  I want to take care of you.  Why are you so upset?”

 photo 024505_zps05e9eb33.jpg

“Upset? Upset? Why am I upset? Do you know what you’ve done? My family…what we can do? Did you tell them? Do they know?”

“No! I wouldn’t do that, Allie, not without your okay. How could you think I could do that?”

“I don’t know, maybe because you snuck off and joined the army without telling me?  How could you be such a fool?”

 photo 024506_zps0b55b11c.jpg

“I am not a fool!” Weldon said. “You are the fool! We have a good thing here, don’t you see? With this job I can take care of you! We can leave this dinky little town, buy a house, get away from it all!”

“We can’t leave! This is my home, my destiny! I am the DiPotere heir…this is where I belong until the curse is broken.”

Weldon fumed. “You think I don’t know that? You think I haven’t thought about our future daughter…stuck here someday like you have been? Tortured by something I can’t stop and don’t understand? If I’m working for the Army, you’ll be protected. You’ll be safe from it all. We’ll be free! And you call me a fool?”

 photo 024507_zps2dc21638.jpg

Allie felt deflated. “I never thought of the curse and how it would affect you,” she said, hanging her head. “It’s been my life for so long now it’s hard to remember sometimes that others don’t think the way I do.”  She took a deep breath and looked up. “I love you Weldon. I’ll always love you. And you’ve helped me to see what I must do.”

“Oh, thank goodness,” said Weldon, moving in for a kiss.

“I think you should leave.”

Weldon was shocked. “What are you saying? Are we…done?”

“I can’t put you through this life. You deserve better. You deserve a wife and family you can take care of, protect. You’ll never have that with me…or with any children we might have had. Just go, please. Just forget about me, and move on. You’ll make someone a really great husband someday.” Allie put one hand on Weldon’s arm and kissed him quickly on the cheek, before she ran into the house. He heard the click of the lock after the door closed behind her.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

