Skip to content

2.25 Conversations in the Dark, Part III

January 28, 2011

Photobucket

“What?” Allie said in disbelief.

“I said, all we have to do is sneak into the Goth mansion and break them out. I know it will be a bit more dangerous for you…”

“A bit?” Allie interrupted Lazlo’s speech to rant. “A DiPotere going into the Goth mansion is a suicide mission! Everything we know about the curse says that Bella Goth is the one who started it all, and you want me to walk into her parlor and hand myself over on a silver platter?  I can’t do it. I won’t do it.”

Lazlo hung his head. “Okay, then,” he said softly. “Okay. You’re right. I was foolish to ask you to do this, to risk so much.”

Allie turned to leave, still fuming, but as she started down the first staircase, she heard a soft sobbing sound. Turning around, she found Lazlo, head in his hands, crying gently.

Photobucket

Criminey, thought Allie. “Lazlo, Lazlo, I…” she said. Life wasn’t fair. Here she’d found this great guy, and he was taken. Now she had the chance to reunite a family torn apart by the evil Bella, and she was afraid. She might be able to unlock another secret to the family curse, and she was going to do what? Go home and write in her diary?

No.

She was a DiPotere, damn it. A strong witch. This was her destiny. It was more than the theory classes at La Fiesta Tech. More than the books she studied. More than the late night conversations with Miss Emmy.  This was real.   She knew within her was a great power, but was it great enough? “I guess we’ll find out,” she mumbled to herself as she walked back up the stairs.

Photobucket

Lazlo looked up. “Did you say something, Allie?” The tears were authentic, she could tell, not just some ploy to make her feel guilty.

“I’ll do it,” she said. “Lazo, I said I was in this with you, 110 percent, and I am. I’m sorry I got…scared. This is what my life is all about, fighting this curse, correcting the evil that’s been done by it.  I finally get it.  This is my destiny.  I can’t run away from it anymore. When do we do this thing?”

Lazlo’s expression slowly changed from one of devastating grief, to confusion, to sheer joy. “How about in one week’s time?”

“Okay,” Allie replied. “One week from today.” The two began their descent down the stairs to the ground below. “Oh, and Lazlo?”

“Yes?”

“I can’t work for you anymore.”

Now it was Lazlo’s turn to be bewildered. “What? Did I do something? This doesn’t have to interfere, you know. We won’t discuss it at the Cafe.”

“No,” said Allie, smiling gently. “I’m accepting an offer for another job. I’m sorry to leave you in the lurch. I thought about it a lot, too much probably, but I know there’s no future for me at the cafe. For awhile I thought maybe I could be happy there for a long time, but now I see it won’t work. I’m sorry,” she said again, laying a hand on Lazlo’s shoulder.

Photobucket

Lazlo pulled her in close for a tight hug. A tiny tear slid out from the corner of Allie’s eye. “It’s okay, Allie. I hope you find everything you’re looking for.” He stepped back, but held on to her shoulders still. “I’m sorry it couldn’t be with me.”

Allie smiled again, a tiny smile that belied how she felt inside. “Me too.”

She turned to go, and was halfway across the yard before Lazlo yelled, “Hey, what’s your new job?”

This time Allie smiled for real. “Detective. They’ve hired me down at Strangetown PD. Do you believe it?” Lazlo laughed, loud and long, and Allie walked home with the sound of his laughter playing in her ears.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Potential_fate permalink
    January 30, 2011 12:08 am

    Oh my, going face to face with the curse! WHAT WILL HAPPEN???

  2. pieridae permalink*
    February 1, 2011 12:57 am

    LOL. One never knows! I so wish I could have more free time for the DiPoteres and getting this story moving.

    NOTE: I fixed the post. Somehow I’d posted two of the same picture.

  3. Lissabry permalink
    February 22, 2011 5:27 pm

    *cries* “I’m sorry it couldn’t be with me” *cries some more

  4. pieridae permalink*
    February 24, 2011 12:04 pm

    Lissabry – You’re too cute. It really was tough not letting Allie get together with Lazlo, but it wasn’t meant to be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

