Skip to content

2.22 Once Upon a Time (Lazlo’s Story)

November 28, 2010

Photobucket

It took awhile to sink in, this news. Allie twisted and turned what Lazlo had said over in her head, but it still came out all jumbled. Did Lazlo really just say he was father to her great-niece? It made no sense at all. Here he sat across from her, looking no more than 30 (not to mention smokin’ hot), and at the same time trying to explain how he’d hooked up with her cousin, oh, say, 40 years ago.

“Allie?” Lazlo asked, a bit of hesitation lingering on his voice. “Are you okay? Are you breathing?”

Allie let her breath out all at once and realized she wasn’t. “I…I’m just trying to wrap my head around this information,” she said. “I really, really, really don’t understand.”

“It’s just something I’ve come to understand myself,” he said. “My brothers and I, we’ve been working to uncover Bella’s secrets for years now, and it all began with Isadora’s disappearance.

Photobucket

“When I met Isadora,” he said, a smile suddenly lighting up his face, “she was such a strange creature. I saw her the first day, living on her lawn, as you DiPotere’s seem to love to do. Isa was everything I’d ever wanted in a woman – smart, funny, totally invested in her science career – and slowly, bit by bit, she began to let me into her life. It took awhile. At the time, though, we both worked at BellTech Labs, so that helped me get to know her, and for her to come to trust me.

Photobucket

“Soon enough, we were both living on her lawn. Don’t ask me how she talked me into it, she just did. She could have talked me into anything.  Back then I was young, or seemed young anyway, and all I knew was I adored her more than anything. We spent our days working at BellTech, and our nights lying around talking about our dreams.

Photobucket

“Finally came the day when Isa came to love me as I loved her. We began our life together, got engaged, built a house…everything seemed perfect.

Photobucket

“And then Isa got pregnant. We hadn’t planned to have a baby so soon, but we weren’t actively trying not to either, if you get my drift. Within Isa, something changed. A darkness that was in her emerged. She became very troubled, and began to obsess over things.

Photobucket

“When our little girl was born, I hoped Isa would be more like herself again. I didn’t push her, figuring that her mood swings were a part of her pregnancy. Our little girl was so beautiful, I didn’t know how the world couldn’t be better with her in it. Isa desperately wanted to name her Bella Donna, after her long lost aunt. I didn’t like it. The name seemed to be tempting fate, but Isa was so adamant, and I just wanted her to be happy again, so finally I relented.

Photobucket

“After Bella was born, though, Isa didn’t get better. She got worse. Her obsessions grew. She was convinced someone was watching her all the time. She would spend hours standing by the window, just staring. We didn’t talk anymore, and Isa quit her job at BellTech to take care of Bella. She wasn’t anything like the woman I knew, and I worried about her night and day.

Photobucket

“She became increasingly paranoid, even toward me. Not only did she think people were watching her, she was convinced others were trying to harm her and the baby. The day she sent me away was the worst day of my life. I tried to reason with her, to convince her to love me again, but it was no use.

Photobucket

“I’m ashamed to say, I left. I didn’t know what else to do! Isa and I were fighting all the time, and I didn’t want Bella to grow up like that, so I left.

Photobucket

“Luckily, we had Miss Emmy. She raised Bella as if she were her own daughter, and watched over Isa night and day. Emmy kept me updated on Bella’s development, and sent me pictures. She was growing up so fast. I wasn’t even there for her birthday party. I tried and tried, but Isa would have nothing to do with me.

Photobucket

“It was shortly after that party that Isa disappeared. One day Emmy came to me and told me they were gone. I went crazy, literally crazy, for months. We searched everywhere, but they had just vanished. As it was with your ancestors, they were just gone, house and all.  For so long, I didn’t think I could, or should, go on without them, but I did.  Miss Emmy was a big help in bringing me back to reality.

When my mind cleared, it seemed as if a fog had been lifted.  Other things, realizations, were coming into focus.  My brothers and I began counting days, and we discovered the Strangetown Continuum – the fact that time passes very slowly here. BellTech Labs seemed to be a key. I quit my job there after Isa disappeared – it just didn’t feel right there without her, but both my brothers still work there to this day. There is much to tell you about that place, but it will keep for another day. For now, all you need to know is this: Bella Goth is the mastermind of not only your curse, but of Strangetown itself, and she runs it all from BellTech Labs. I will bring her down one day, and I will get Isadora and Bella back.”

Photobucket

Allie didn’t know what to say. For the first time with Lazlo, maybe even in her whole life, she was speechless. The curse was one thing, but this…how could she believe it? If she was anyone else, anyone at all, and a man told her he was engaged to her long-lost great cousin, had fathered a child with her long-lost great cousin, she would have run off screaming by now. But she wasn’t anyone else. She was Alessandra DiPotere, heir to the DiPotere family curse. It’s a shame, she thought, eying Lazlo’s strong arms, a real shame.

Allie sighed. “So, you think Isadora is still alive? After all these years?”

“I do,” Lazlo said. “And I have proof.”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Carebears permalink
    November 28, 2010 2:35 pm

    New reader here! 🙂
    And the ending gave me goosebumps lol

    “I do,” Lazlo said. “And I have proof.”

    That was one cliffhanger can’t wait for the next one!

  2. Potential_fate permalink
    November 28, 2010 3:25 pm

    dun dun dundun…

  3. November 28, 2010 10:47 pm

    I am sooooo glad you’re still writing this! It’s one of my all time favorite Legacy epics. 🙂

  4. pieridae permalink*
    November 29, 2010 12:39 am

    Awwww, thanks Deb! Thanks for stopping by, it’s good to see you. I thought everyone from the Yahoo group had disappeared from the Sims world.

  5. pieridae permalink*
    November 29, 2010 12:40 am

    🙂

  6. pieridae permalink*
    November 29, 2010 12:40 am

    Welcome Carebears. It’s so amazing, after all these years, to still get new readers! Thanks for leaving the note, you made my day.

  7. Sizza permalink
    November 29, 2010 1:32 pm

    He has proof :O.
    That’s quite the cliffhanger, cannot wait for more!

  8. pieridae permalink*
    December 14, 2010 10:56 am

    Thanks, Sizza!

Leave a Reply

